Murang’a County is one of the five counties in the Central region of the Republic of Kenya. It is bordered to the North by Nyeri, to the South by Kiambu, to the West by Nyandarua and to the East by Kirinyaga, Embu and Machakos counties. It lies between latitudes 0o 34’ South and 107’ South and Longitudes 36o East and 37o 27’ East. The county occupies a total area of 2,558.8Km2.


Kenya has a high youthful population, with about 59% of the population aged below 24. This is slightly lower in Murang’a County where 50% of the population is below 24 years. (Source: 2019 Census, KNBS).

Kenya has a predominantly young population, with 67% aged 29 years and below. Whereas a 47% reduction in AIDS-related deaths was registered among adolescents and young people between 2015 and 2021, this population continues to be disproportionately affected by HIV compared to older adults. In 2021, 42% of new adult HIV infections were attributed to adolescents and young people aged 15-24, with significant geographical variations. 

The ‘Triple Threat Campaign’ is a multisectoral, whole government approach to ending new HIV infections, unintended pregnancies, and sexual and gender-based violence among adolescent girls and young women by addressing the drivers of risk and vulnerability in this population.

Murang’a County Triple Threat campaign edition brought together various community leaders and local administration that vowed to end the triple threat in the county.